Department Chair: Travis Nelson
Office: 138 Gardner Hall
Phone: 608.342.1809


Political Science


Political Science

Non-Degree Programs


About the Department and Majors

The UW-Platteville Department of Social Sciences, a combined program in the liberal arts, offers courses of study that challenge students to develop an understanding of the dynamics of individual and social behavior from a number of perspectives. The department offers programs in economics, political science, and sociology. Descriptions of these programs and courses are found below.

While the study of social sciences may also include history, geography, criminal justice and psychology, these programs are listed under their own department headings.